First Training On Crutches

I had decided that I will not give in to my temporary handicap. There was no way It will come between me and my training and weightlifting.

That being said, I woke up this morning and packed my water bottle in a bag made to carry an iPad (yes, a man purse) and off I went. The 1 mile drive was not fun, but I made it.

Now was the time for the real challenge, actually working out. Typically, Monday is my Legs & Shoulders day at the gym, considering my current condition I had to change that to Chest & Biceps (Monday is internation chest day after all!)

I had already planned my workout. I knew there was no way I can manage lifting my normal weights. I used to do 80 lbs dumbbells by 12-15 reps for 3 sets for the incline bench press and 75 lbs for flat bench press. So I decided to go with 50% weight and twice as many reps.

Getting the dumbbells off of the rack and rolling them over to the bench made for an entertaining, sometime hairy experience but it was all good.

I was able to do my bench press and incline bench press with seated dumbbell curls and preacher curls 30-40 reps each set for 4 sets total (oh yeah, I’ll be sore tomorrow!)

It was hard, it was challenging but during my workout a couple of people came up to me and said “Now that is dedication, we are impressed!”

Needless to say, I am humbled, but proud. I feel accomplished and I am looking forward to tomorrow’s Back and Triceps workout.

Standard

Leave a Reply

